What is this blemish?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 B
Country
United States
I have just started harvesting my cherry tomatoes and since this is my first time growing them I am not sure what is normal or what is something that causes the fruit to be discarded. There is a greenish yellow spot beneath the skin of one of my tomatoes (picture attached) should I discard this tomatoe or is it a normal variance I should expect to see going forward?

Attachments

• 20240716_164014.jpg
    20240716_164014.jpg
    229.4 KB · Views: 10
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Either the beginning of blossom end rot which is caused by watering inconsistency or more likely a bit of water sitting on the skin and causing sunburn. If it bothers you, scrape it off.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I agree that it looks like the start of blossom end rot and that's from a calcium deficiency in your soil along with inconsistent watering. Tomatoes like slightly acid soil bit just slightly.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 B
Country
United States
How do you create acidic soil? I used a mix of garden soil with a small amount of potting mix mixed in. I currently grow in a raised flower bed like the single ones you see at your big box store not the kind that you build into the yard. I wanted to make sure I could grow successfully before investing the money into building the raised bed garden we have planned for the fall. I have seen soil testers at the store would that be a reccomendation you would make?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Add a little bit of Lime to your compost mix, or crushed egg shells, You should not need much just a light sprinkling over the surface with the lime.
Not used a soil testing kit for many years so cannot help there. Certainly the electronic one I tried was not a lot of use.

Reaction score
Country
United States