Transplanting pomegranate saplings (5 year update)

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Posted this 5 years ago when I first started gardening and tried to grow pomegranates from seed via a grocery store fruit (it was actually my very first post here):
1718750449162.jpeg

5 years later and I have 1 survivor who just started her first flower! I don’t care if it’s not true to type or even edible. I f’ing did it and I am unabashedly proud of myself.

1718750597954.jpeg

1718750635911.jpeg

Mystic Moon Tree

Herbalist, Gardener, & Permaculturist
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b to 8 unique microclimate
Country
United States
Seriously congratulations. I have 3 from seed. One is a 15 year old bonsai in a pot and has never flowered. Can you share what you amend the soil with that might have encouraged flowering? My tree is really happy, but has never bloomed & I would really love for it to.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Very Cool !!
I bought mine from a grower and it is about the age of yours and just flowered this year. Im in 9a as well but in Georgia. I got mine in early spring so, I think spring or late fall would be fine for transplanting.

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Seriously congratulations. I have 3 from seed. One is a 15 year old bonsai in a pot and has never flowered. Can you share what you amend the soil with that might have encouraged flowering? My tree is really happy, but has never bloomed & I would really love for it to.