Sphagnum Moss Top Dressing for Succulents?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Anyone here use sphagnum moss as a top dressing for succulents? I keep my succulents in a soilless mix that I make with crushed pumice, chicken grit and calcined clay. Works great, dries fast, my plants love it and I've been using it for many years now. It's not the most attractive looking mix, so I'll usually cover it with a top dressing of natural brown gravel and a few river rocks. I'm going to be doing some repotting soon and was thinking of mixing things up a bit though, and trying a different type of top dressing. Would long fiber sphagnum moss work well with succulents (mainly various Euphorbia, jades, Pachypodium)? Or would it hold too much moisture and create an environment that would encourage undesirable things like fungus and fungus gnats? I've read that it dries quickly... And I'm not talking about incorporating it into the mix, just laying it on top as a decorative layer. I keep my plants in a relatively dry room (40-50% humidity).

Low Altitude

Low Altitude
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b but houseplants only - apartment
Country
United States
Agree with Annie and Oliver. I use little fish-tank pebbles – super. Also, aesthetically I suppose, more consistent with succulents' natural environment, hot and arid; moss is from cool and moist; provides a colo(u)r contrast while moss might blend a bit and make the succulent seem less distinct.

Attachments

• IMG_1032.JPG
    IMG_1032.JPG
    214.6 KB · Views: 3

Low Altitude

Low Altitude
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b but houseplants only - apartment
Country
United States
Oh, those all look terrific. I'm especially impressed with that woody stem on your jade. Any trick? I have a persistent soft-stems problem, both with 'gollums' and with standard crassla ovata.

Reaction score
Country
United States