Re-transplanting my tomatoes?

Ostrodamus

Mercenary turned gardener
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
I was gifted 12 beautiful tomato starters by a neighbor, and I failed to bury them correctly. What I mean is that I removed the starters from their small 4" pots and put them directly in the ground, but I only buried them up to their pre-existing soil level. Basically, I would like to know the opinion of digging them up, snipping off the bottom set of branches, and burying them AGAIN.

Is that too much? I know they will be fine as-is, but I can't help but think that they could be BETTER if I did it "properly". I'm just afraid it will be too much shock to them. Am I way off base here? I'm a newbie, this is my first season and I've been researching for the past 4 months religiously. All this research is making me think of that Green Day song lyric "my eyes feel like they're gonna bleed".

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
How long ago did you plant them? You didn't plant them "wrong" but you did plant them at a disadvantage. Tomatoes can grow roots from the stem and planting them deeper just makes for a larger root system. You could just mound up dirt to the cotyledons or even higher without digging them up. If they have been planted only 4 or 5 days you can probably safely dig them up. Just allow for expanding root growth when you do.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
If they were leggy give them some support and just leave them in the ground.

Ostrodamus

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States