New strawberry bed

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
DSC00906.JPG

We got this idea to make a strawberry bed here along the side of the garage. It faces west and gets sun for only half a day or a bit less. A friend of ours who grows strawberries said that would be enough sun for berries to thrive. My dad used this spot for years to dump ashes from his wood stove so it's plenty ashy. The grass and weeds do well, but do I need to add something to enrich the soil? Thinking of making a raised type of bed but don't know what to add to make it better for strawberries.There is so much stuff out there it can confuse a beginner. Looking for suggestions. Thank you all. You have been a big help getting us started on our little sunny spot.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I'm no strawberry expert but I know of a location where the ground is thick with wild ones. Its very sandy, sunny and dry and not much else grows there except the strawberries. There are a few that pop up in my side yard every year but they don't seem to spread or be very prolific; but my soil is very rich and loamy and maybe a half day of sun there at best. So based on that observation my nonscientific opinion is they like sandy soil and the more sun the better. :)

Mind you the ones you buy at a greenhouse likely have different requirements.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Strawberries are naturally woodland plants and grow in the shade of trees, so location shouldn't be a problem.
Comfrey is excellent strawberry fertiliser, with a little bonemeal in the planting holes for root development.
Any residual nutrients from the woodash will be a plus.

You do realise, however, that strawberries can only be frown is the same place for so long before the soil becomes sour.