I need validation

Reaction score
Country
United States
20240730_125717.jpg
20240726_150941.jpg

My husband pulled out the overgrown bushes near our house. 15 years ago. I asked him if we could replace the bushes (looking into boxwoods or something prickly) Year after year he keeps saying he will get to it. I decided to do it myself. But I'm a newbie. He tells me you can't plant bushes in the summer. I checked and fall is best, but I'll be at work in the fall. I'm going for if while I can. First I cleared away 15 years of acorn hulls and twigs and leaves. I am planning to buy the bushes. Now he's telling me I need to rototill the area. Is that correct? I'm not going to keep putting this off another year.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to this as well as don't have an answer to your question, but it looks like it took a ton of effort to get that space prepped that way. You did a really good job :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4 to 5 best for success.
Country
United States
too much shade for Box Woods, they will not make it.

its really not a big space, renting a rototiller for about 4 hours is all you need. Also get some bags of good top soil and peat to mix in as you churn the soil. Success truly is better for plants with good soil base.

Anyway, if you want to plant shrubs in the summer, your going to have to line up a drip hose and have the water on 24/7 for a few weeks , off if it rains naturally.

Pick shrubs that work in shade for success. even if the sun moves about and you are getting some son. Boxwoods need total sun. Why do you want prickly shrubs?

Reaction score
Country
United States
For shade I woild go with Encore Azaleas, thay bloom twice a year and come in lots of different colors.