How many tomatoes can my plant handle

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm a newbie to gardening and this is my first attempt to grow tomatoes. I planted a Hillbilly heirloom plant this spring without reading what to do, so instead of trimming it to a single main stalk, there are 5 stalks rising from the bottom and the entire plant has become quite crowded. I've been pruning branches every few days to allow some air circulation and light. It's now the end of August, so where I live in Connecticut, there's not going to be enough time for new fruit to fully mature, so I've pinched off all the suckers and flowers. I'd like the existing fruit to grow to a good size, so I'm wondering if I should also prune some of the latest fruit to emerge that are still tiny. I have 23 tomatoes that are getting to be decent size and another 11 tiny ones. Is this too much for a single plant to handle or should I leave it with all the fruit? Thanks for any advice.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Hillbillies can grow to over 2lbs each, that's potentially 50lbs of tomatoes so far.

I'd look at thinning them out and making sure what's there is well supported.

My biggest problem with them was a tendency to split the skins after a heavy rain. Especially as they got close to ripe. If you can control the water you can be successful.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Now that some of the tiny ones are growing, I see 36 tomatoes. I've read that this variety can produce tomatoes weighing 1-2 pounds each. Should I expect mine to be smaller since there are so many? Would it be better to remove some?
Hillbillies can grow to over 2lbs each, that's potentially 50lbs of tomatoes so far.

I'd look at thinning them out and making sure what's there is well supported.

My biggest problem with them was a tendency to split the skins after a heavy rain. Especially as they got close to ripe. If you can control the water you can be successful.