Bay tree roots sticking up out of the soil in it's container

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just bought a pair of Bay trees. The trees arrived with some roots sticking up out of the soil. Is the normal or should I replant them into larger containers? or is it possible to bend them back down into the container? Sorry if this is a silly question but I'm quite new to gardening.

Attachments

• Baytree roots.jpg
    Baytree roots.jpg
    493.3 KB · Views: 14
Reaction score
Country
United States
Not normal. It sounds like whoever potted this up left the roots long and when it was potted, that root was left sticking up. Putting it into a pot the next size up wouldn't hurt.

Reaction score
Country
United States
OK, so there's a decision tree here going on. Bear in mind I don't know much about bay trees. But I can help you understand this and what to do. I agree with Anniekays' assessment also! Good job.

So... some trees and plants reproduce new plants through suckers coming up from the roots. If this is the case then those will become tiny sucker trees. And what you can do with plants that do make suckers coming out of the roots is basically very gently and carefully trim them away WITH attached roots to make additional new tiny new trees.

You might try to confirm if this is the case with Bay trees. But I suspect this could work?

But if its supposed to be buried then roots shouldn't be exposed. You can try to cover roots poking out because then if you don't the plant gets heat stressed. Roots don't generally like to be exposed and if they are it harms the plant, UNLESS they are suckers trying to form new plants. (Do bay trees do this?)