Advice Needed - Raised Garden Beds

Reaction score
Country
Barbados
Hi

I am new to gardening and am looking to create a raised garden bed off of the ground. I am planting a variety of sunflowers, vegetables and herbs.

I was looking at the layers that you have to use to create the bed. I just was to know if the layers that I am thinking to use from the bottom up are good:
1. Burlap liner
2. Coconut coir
3. Drainage stones
4. Compost
5. Raised garden bedbsoild
6. Mulch with mosiiquite pellets

Are those layers good?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I don't think you need coco coir. I would put a sheet of landscape fabric on the bottom to help keep the soil and stones from obstructing the drainage holes, then just a good all purpose garden soil on top and you're done.

Mystic Moon Tree

Herbalist, Gardener, & Permaculturist
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b to 8 unique microclimate
Country
United States